top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

ELITE BAR CAFFÈ, VIA LUCA VALERIO 57-63, 00146 ROMA


Rating: Poor, poorly brewed Roman coffee

So this place, the Elite Bar Caffè sits in a tucked away corner East of the Viale Marconi in the North East Portuense area. It’s a sleepy residential area that is surprisingly quiet given the central area it’s in. Either way, I had just walked out of a café that served me terrible coffee (yeah, you’ll have to put up with another review like that), and was hoping for something a little better. There were lots of Brazilian flags on the outside of this place, so I thought that they might have some kind of South American coffee roasts or something- but as I’ve learned here that’s just too much wishful thinking. I walked in and the place was dead except for a retired lady enjoying her leisurely breakfast.

This is what the barista gave me:

Presentation: The cup was nice. It’s a brand I know, and confirmed that Roman coffee was being served here. The design is vintage as they’re not using this anymore. But cool altogether. I had asked for a cup of water but the barista/owner forgot about it when his two friends came in. He served them coffee, spoke to them, etc and just let that go, even though he acknowledged my request.


Temperature of Cup: It was very hot, too hot.


Quantity: Short, I was happy, it was going to be short if painful…


Temperature: Ouch! How long does it take for coffee to cool down? I feel like here in Rome the laws of thermophysics are schewed as water cools down at an even slower temperature when coffee is mixed with it!


Volume/Consistency: Runny, thin, cutting, sharp, and lacking in body. Nothing exciting.


Crema: It was actually decent up until it started to cool down. I waited and waited and lo and behold it started to give way. This is normal, but it also didn’t add to the drinking experience.

Odor: Dark charred coffee smell, not the type of invitation I want before taking a sip of coffee.


Taste: Thin and piercing, and turned towards bitter rancidness almost immediately. I took another sip and the flatness of the bitter/rancid of the drink almost made me gack…. Fun!

Overall: Just a terrible coffee. It didn’t get any better as it got colder and well, I abandoned the whole effort immediately. Sorry, but I’m not sure I’d give this another chance.


The setup: The machine was a beautiful Astoria, the grinder a Mazzer / Astoria in silver bullet coat. And the coffee the Roman-based roaster Gima Caffè, from which I’ve had way way better coffee in the past.

Elite Bar Caffè

Tavola Calda

Vermo Maria Teresa

Via Luca Valerio 57-63

00146 Roma

Tel. 06 4550 9147


bottom of page