top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

MILANO CAFFÈ, VIA MILANO 58, 00184 ROMA


Rating: Standard, lower end Roman coffee


The Milano Caffè on the Via Milano (near Termini, and close to the Via Nazionale), is a nice locale. It looked more like a juice bar than a café, as it had a large sign outside publicizing all it’s freshly squeezed juices. When I walked in the barista was mopping the floor and both I and a cop seemed to be doing so at the wrong time. But she was good hearted about it and came right around to serve us coffee. She joked with the policeman about the crazy amount of mosquitos that had invaded Rome after the rains. The barista was very good hearted and seemed to like what she was doing, but I feel we came in at the wrong time as she was obviously busy trying to tidy up before closing. The locale is very nice, small in the interior with a large outside seating area that was quite busy with folk enjoying a post-work chat.

This is what I got served:

Presentation: Nice clean cup. Lots of stamped images on it, not really a fan, but it’s distinctive and this is what sets this Roman roaster apart from others in town. Water was very kindly served when asked.


Temperature of Cup: It was hot, too hot to the touch.


Quantity: It was a good small espresso. The cup is very big and prone to gargantuan long single shots. Here it was good.


Temperature: Very hot still, I had to play with my phone quite a lot before I could start drinking it. Not the best way to end an afternoon.


Volume/Consistency: It was thin, cutting, almost bladelike in texture. No real oils and to little coffee in the porta filter for this length espresso.


Crema: It was thin and uniform, and had good elasticity, however, I didn’t feel it added much to the drinking experience.

Odor: Hm, yes quite dark roasted smell, charringly dark. I’ll take it!


Taste: It was very bitter, very sharp, and almost tiptoeing to rancid. It didn’t get there, but really wasn’t vibrant. It was rather flat in it’s simplicity and the finish runny and watery with a pungent bitterness.

Overall: Well, It was OK, I’ve had coffee like this in lots of other places. The roaster tends to be very sharp as this specimen, and it wasn’t a particularly pleasant coffee for me. It was more of a shot to the veins n’ nothin’ more.


The setup: The machine was a much seen La Cimbali, the grinder the same. The coffee is a Roman-based Portioli Caffè, this is in the main of what I’ve experienced from them. Hopefully I’ll be blown away at another café serving their roasts. So far, I’ve had similar experiences to this.

Milano Caffè

Lions in the World S.A.S.

Via Milano 58 A-B

000184 Roma

Tel. 06 890 3995

bottom of page