top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

FABCAFE, CARRER DE BAILÈN 11, 08010 BARCELONA

Rating: Standard, serving third-wave coffee in Barcelona

I had read a recent article by Perfect Daily Grind on some of Barcelona’s Third Wave scene, and with the little time that I had (as I couldn’t go hopping though to Gracia or Les Corts neighborhoods for other cafes) I decided to visit La Cherry. It seemed like an interesting place, inside the MOB (Makers of Barcelona) multi-work multi-use office space area. But to my surprise, I find that La Cherry doesn’t exist anymore. In fact, I ask the barista and she says that it’s been four months since they’ve taken over, and the place now is called FabCafe. As you walk in there was a 3D printing and wood cutting station that some guy was running. Essentially it's a concept cafe with the idea of making stuff and spending time while you do it with great coffee. Without dropping the ball, I gave it a go, and I was happy, as they were serving up Nomad coffee, so I went for an espresso.​ The staff were super friendly, totally toned down and unassuming, and simply took care of my drinking experience. They even brought the coffee to my table, and asked me if I wanted the internet password, etc... really customer driven, and that's nice for a change.

This is what I got served up:

Presentation: Yup, a short small cup, very nice. Cherry red, maybe a leftover from La Cherry’s setup? There was a big difference here, the cup came with a spoon and sugar. There was also free Wi-Fi to boot. No water was offered. It’s not habit here in Barcelona….


Temperature of Cup: Very good, a bit on the warm side, but excellent.


Quantity: Very short shot. Not a damned extra large French cappuccino cup as in the last two places I visited. I was happy.


Temperature: On the mark, warm, smooth.


Volume/Consistency: Silky, oily, rich, not powdery at all, and simply very good, substantial and without being thin.


Crema: Look a this, it’s nice. We’re almost at a tiger stripping, but not quite. The crema was thin, elastic, vinyl acrylic like and not particularly oily, but flexible.

Odor: Not really aromatic, but had hints of open floral scents. But I couldn’t make out anything in particular from this cup.


Taste: It was a punchy start, acidic, tart that as I let the cup cool even more, opened to cherries, and fresh apples. There was a slight nutty pistachio like finish to it.

Overall: It was very decent. Very good and very different than the same coffee I had tried at the Nomad Coffee Lab & Shop. Amazing how a different barista, and extraction quantities will change the entire profile of a cup and of the beans. Such a nice surprise.


The setup: The had a nice Marzocco, duh, what else? … but it does get boring that all ‘third wave’ cafes have to have the same stupid machine… (and yes, I do know why this beast is chosen over an old school La Cimbali…).

​They had interesting Wega grinders that I hadn’t encountered in person before. Then the coffee being served was by Nomad Coffee, and it was their Costa Rica - Tarrazu La Cipres estate.


FabCafe

Carrer de Bailèn 11

08010 Barcelona

Spain

bottom of page