top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

GIANICOLO BAR CAFFÈ, PIAZZALE AURELIO 5, 00152 ROMA


Rating: Standard, solid mid-level Roman coffee


For the many tourists heading to the Pamphilj gardens, the Gianicolo Bar Caffè comes as welcome suprise. Right when they leave the eastern most end, and look at the arch of triumph of the Porta San Pancazio, they see this bar. Inside it’s got a typical wood and glass and old tyle interior that reminded me of an irish bar more than a roman café, but looking back, it’s also that. Either way, the place was packed with locals arguing about politics and incidentally when I walked in, old man started to cuss about the Americans who are invading Rome. I looked at him dead on and thought that maybe he wanted to engage in some lively conversation, and probably so, but I let that opportunity go. I was after all going to pay for my coffee.​

The cup I got was the following:​

Presentation: Clean cup, water served immediately. All was in order.​


Temperature of Cup: Super hot cup. Yup, I’m in a traditional Roman café.


Quantity: It was a short just under one ounce shot.


Temperature: It was hot! Super hot!


Volume/Consistency: It was thin, sandy-powdery, and light.


Crema: It was thin, bubbly, over-extracted in my opinion. And started to dissipate while I waited for the coffee to cool down.​

Odor: Darkly roasted coffee, quite fragrant I must add!


Taste: It was not rancid, and only slightly bitter. It was flat with no type of taste profile. No sense of coffee oils infusing the drink.​

​Overall: After I waited it out to have the coffee cool down, and listening to the other old folk chatting about the Americans invading Rome during the summer, the coffee turned out to be OK. It wasn’t characteristically interesting, but it wasn’t poor. It was a soft coffee once it cooled down.


The setup: They had a SAB espresso machine that had three E-61 based group heads. I couldn’t make out the grinder, but when I ordered my coffee they grounded fresh coffee for my cup. However, I didn’t notice if the fresh grounds ended up in my cup or only in the basket. The coffee was indeed Negresco Caffè. This is a Roman based roaster that tends to roast peppery fiery char-dark roasted coffee.​


Gianicolo Bar Caffè

Piazzale Aurelio 5

00152 Roma

Tel. 06 580 6275

bottom of page