top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

DELL'EUR CAFFÈ, VIALE EUROPA 322-324, 00144 ROMA


Rating: Poor, unfortunately low Roman coffee


The Caffè dell’EUR (or the Johnny Mezzanote Café, a much cooler name in my opinion), has a rater large monolocale on the corner, lots of light and a ‘metallic’ feel to it. Greys, whites and mirrors are the impression I got from it. It feels like a comfortable, modern place that is not too high end, nor too ‘lets get some money out of squirting coffee and who gives a crap about the locale’ as many places are here in Rome. It’s got lots of tables outside to meet the ton of people that work in this area. And unfortunately it’s not a diner or 50s themed café as the alternate name suggests.​

Either way, I was there for the coffee:​

Presentation: Interesting, I got a Caffè Mokadì cup. It’d been a while since I’d seen one of these. And the funny thing was that there was tons of Palombini merchandising items everywhere. Hmm… The cup was a nice shame I usually like, very curvy. The spoon was flimsy but small enough, and still wet. Which I don’t usually like. No water offered, even though I was the only one there.


Temperature of Cup: Uff… it was very hot.


Quantity: It was a short shot. The barista looked serious about what he was doing, and when I was there was cleaning up the bar.


Temperature: Yikes! Still damned hot! Very hot actually.


Volume/Consistency: Well, after I gave it a good few minutes, where I got my espresso looked at a few times to see if it as already consumed, I gave it a go. It was thin, runny, sharp in its profile.


Crema: The crema was a bit marbled as you can see (the shot was just way too long), not persistent, grainy and didn’t add to the drinking experience.​

Odor: No smell.


Taste: Extremely bitter. Very piercing taste that made my mouth numb and filled it with a not magical tingling … that was quite disturbing. I wasn’t sure what chemicals had filled that cup… at least that’s what I thought.​

​Overall: It was a poor experience. I left the cup almost finished but I simply couldn’t bother. As you can see, it looked like a very oily rich coffee from the profile around the rim, but it wasn’t. It was flat, so bitter and so odd that I simply couldn’t enjoy this at all.


The setup: It was a very nice setup in my opinion. The only thing they actually needed was a real tamper! They had two beautiful Mazzer grinders and a La Faimac Simple espresso machine. Now to the coffee being brewed. I originally thought it was Palombini, and that’s what the taste was like, but after I had finished the espresso I asked, and the barista looked at me almost as if to ask, ‘why do I need to know’, and said Mokadì. So that’s the scoop. Maybe a different barista would give us a different experience here, as I generally liked the locale.​

Il Caffè dell'Eur

Johnny Mezzanotte Café

Johnnz Mezzanote SRLS

Viale Europa 322-324

00144 Roma

Tel. 06 591 9796

bottom of page