top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

GRAN CAFFÈ EUR, VIALE DELL'AERONAUTICA 25-31, 00144 ROMA


Rating: Standard, mid-range Milanese coffee



In the close vicinity of two very good cafes (the Em. Gi Caffè and the Ma.Gi Caffè - funny how their names are similar), is the Gran Caffè EUR (Facebook page here). The name does reflect the size of the place. It is easily three locales in one, there's a really large selection of pastries and sweets on the left hand side, and then on the right of the bar, there are tables for food and the like. On the outside there are lot of tables, and people lounging about relaxing and talking. The place has a wood lined interior that is dark, which is there to give you the impression of an 'old world' warmth and, in my opinion, and older idea of wealth and class. The staff was nice and the barista, a bit absent minded, busy at slowly kicking out the espressi. The first time I went here, I couldn't get an espresso because the machine was broken. There were two baristas proped up on the counter trying their best with a wrench to bring it back to life. And, it was actually a different and older machine than the one I saw this times time, so I guess it was indeed 'dead'. Either way, let's get to the point of the story.​

Asking for a coffee got me this:​

Presentation: First I got a macchiato accidentally served, but after I denied it from being put on the counter, I finally got the above drink. The cup was clean, had an interesting design to it (see below) and the spoon, while very used, was to size. No water was offered. The cup somehow fit what the Gran Caffè was trying to say about itself- an elegantly dressed woman (more for a night out to the gala ball) having a coffee.


Temperature of Cup: It was good, warm and to temperature. We're off to a good experience so far.


Quantity: The espresso sat short, hidden in the cup, and since the cup was large, I was happy. Good so far, yet again.


Temperature: Yup, also good. So far, having replaced the espresso machine was a good thing!


Volume/Consistency: It was a light consistency, thin, yet a linseed like texture to it. It was only slightly oily, only slightly making a presence in my mouth.


Crema: It was thin, grainy, very light and started to dissipate almost immediately after I took the pictures. It didn't seem to add to the experience of the espresso.

Odor: Yup, the espresso did breathe a bit here and I felt a faint, ever so faint, scent of deeply dark roasted coffee emanated out from the cup.


Taste: It was a normal, dark-toned, flat, and surprisingly not rancid coffee. It was sharp in its bitterness, but nothing more to add for itself. Again, the taste reminded me of a simple Italian dish of oil and pepper. Just the essentials. And the taste of bitterness cut through sharply through my mouth. I haven't had a soft or rich espresso at any place so far that offers lots of sweets.​

​Overall: Nothing remarkable, nothing ‘grand’ about the espresso, and it was neither the upper end, nor the bottom of the barrel. It was a coffee that accompanied by a large custard pastry would do good to clean your throat and give you that extra kick to the half kilo of sugar you’ve just eaten. Not bad.


The setup: They had a newer La Cimbali machine than the previous one I had seen. The grinder was also a la Cimbali, and the decaf grinder I wasn’t able to ID. The coffee being served was the Milan-based Portioli Caffè. I haven’t tasted a spectacular coffee from them, so I can’t fully appreciate what they offer. Their braded cup was interesting, if not sexist in a chauvinistic way, no?​ The coffee, at 1 euro a pop, was the most expensive of the area.

Gran Caffè EUR

Vienn S.R.L.

Viale dell'Aeronautica 25-31

00144 Roma

Tel. 06 591 6796

bottom of page