top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

LIVING ROOM CAFÉ, VIA SOLFERINO 9A-B, 00185 ROMA

Rating: Standard, low-end Roman coffee



The Living Room Café (FB page here) is again, one of those typical Roman cafes that is not only a café, but also half a dozen other things. But here, fortunately, it’s not a ‘café cum 7-Eleven’ as they usually are, but a ‘Café cum Restaurant, lounge, and of course, night club!’ But I bit the bait as I saw ‘café’ on the exterior and thought, well I’ll give it a try. When I walked in it was literally dead quiet. Not a soul inside, the barista and the ‘bouncer’ were having a smoke outside. I walk in and the barista obliges. The interior is pretty cool as it’s all a dark grey brick/rock décor that looks like a dungeon, and of course, they play of that with ‘steam-punk’ like décor… I guess that’s cool for the 18 to 32 age group no? But what the hell does it have to do with ‘Living room’? I was expecting a comfy, chill out place that had a bunch of sofas strewn about … and got a ‘medieval dungeon’… hmm, keeping the name aside, it seemed cool. Yet, go take a look and judge for yourself.​

When the barista finished pouring the coffee, this is what I got:​

Presentation: It was a nice festive cup, a bit out of synch with the ‘ultra-hip, dark style’ décor of the place. The cup was a bit dirty, there was a black spot that looked like a coffee grind on the top, and then a spot that didn’t look like coffee, but something oily. Hell it was dark in there, so I don’t know. The spoon was OK, and the cup held its own.


Temperature of Cup: Yup, it was hot, it wasn’t outlandishly, or torturing hot, but a bit more than I wanted.


Quantity: It was a short shot, the cup was a bit large, so the barista knew when to pull the plug on the button.


Temperature: The coffee itself was good. It wasn’t too hot and I guess the cup had been sitting on the top of the machine for a good 4-5 hours.


Volume/Consistency: It was thin, raspy, no real body, and thinner than I had imagined.


Crema: Ahh.. not so good. It was almost completely uniform light brown, thin as heck and not persistent.​

Odor: Hmm… nope, none here.


Taste: It was very bitter, no other type of taste profile. It was dark-roasted coffee bitter. It wasn’t rancid, so that made me happy. But it was simply a flat-ish bitter and closed end espresso.​

​Overall: It was a low-end normal Roman coffee. It didn’t have some key parameters, like consistency, oiliness, nor a good crema to keep it together.


The setup: It was solid, a nice looking Vibiemme (VBM) espresso machine, with what looked to be a Fiorenzato F6 grinder, the coffee was Miami Caffè, I think this is a local Roman roaster (by the amount of cafes that carry it), but I can’t find any web presence…​


Living Room Café

Live Life SRL

Living Room Bar Café - Restaurant

Via Solferino 9A/B

00185 Roma

bottom of page