top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

MAMY CAFFÈ, VIALE GIULIO CESARE 79-83, 00192 ROMA

Rating: Standard, solidly good Roman coffee



Here’s a safe bet if there’ll ever be one in coffee- in the Prati area you find the Mamy Caffè on a corner. I don’t know what the scoop is with the sign, and why it reads backwards-I’m sure it’s referencing something that I’m not familiar with. When I walked in I was the only person, and the two baristas were chilling cleaning up the place. They were very nice and were intent on me feeling comfortable. ​

Asking for a coffee got this response:​

​Presentation: Water served immediately before the espresso grounds were grinded. The espresso then got extracted and it came in this beautiful cup. Yes, I like this cup shape. The spoon had seen better days but it was just the right size.


Temperature of Cup: The cup was rather hot, more than I expected. I had to wait a bit before it cooled down. This type of cup is angular and feels thinner than it is, and cools down quite slower than it might appear.


Quantity: It was a short shot. Just right for me, a total ristretto in any US consumer’s books.


Temperature: It was on the spot. Since I waited a bit that might have been the trick.


Volume/Consistency: It was thickish with a grainy consistency that wasn’t displeasing. It wasn’t soft-silky, but rather thick sandy in consistency.


Crema: It was uniform, about 3 milimeters thick and oily. It didn’t look too complex, but when I was drinking it- It definitely added to the experience of the cup.​

Odor: Yes, I was glad, there was indeed a characteristic dark-roasted smell. Nothing complex like what we’re seeking from Third Wave coffee, but something, nonetheless!


Taste: It wasn’t bitter, a nice surprise. It was tangy, acidic and I could taste the caffeine as in more lighter roasted coffee. It was good, not complex in taste, but that is just not part of what is available to Roman coffee…​

​Overall: It was solidly mid-range pushing towards a very good upper-range espresso. Can’t go wrong here.


The setup: It was straightforward. A nice Faema with a solidly cool looking Anfim grinder. The coffee is one of my favorites here in Rome, Golden Brasil Caffè, a nearby roasted coffee that delivers consistently rich and good coffee.​

Mamy Caffè

Calor S.A.S.

Viale Giulio Cesare 79-83

00192 Roma

bottom of page