top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

SPARTACO BAR CAFFÈ, VIA LUIGI ARATI 45, 00151 ROMA

Rating: Standard, very good version of Illy


The Spartaco Bar Caffè is tucked away off the Viale Colli Portuensi, and it was almost by mistake that I found it. Yet I’m glad I did, walking up to this place felt like I was walking up to a ‘coffee’ theme park. There was this gargantuan ‘Illy’ coffee cup. This place also had a big Illy sign on its front, and even on its name-placard. This place just loves Illy… so it peaked my interest, and I wasn’t disappointed. The interior was nothing flashy, but there was Illy coffee paraphernalia all over the place. From the little logo on the grinder, to the take-away cups, to selling coffee cans, etc. whatever you wanted, you got it- it had Illy on it!!​

Asking for a cup of coffee got me this duo:​

​Presentation: Glass of water immediately. The cup was clean, and in a version I’ve seen before, the spoon was an Illy spoon that was fun. The really large glass of water, with a yellow bottom (nice touch) I think was well intentioned, as the coffee turned out to pack quite a punch…


Temperature of Cup: Cup was very hot, too hot, but this is what Romans expect.

Quantity: Given the round shape of the cup, it was quite large amount. Let us say a good long espresso.


Temperature: Was still warm, but drinkable about 1 ½ minutes later.


Volume/Consistency: Sirupy, thick, almost chewable, man, this was great!


Crema: Here was the nice part. It was quite rich in tones, dark, all front end espresso, and man, thick and persistent.​

Odor: None as usual…


Taste: It was very bitter, very deeply bitter, so much so that I was almost afraid to finish it because of what it’d do to my stomach!​

​Overall: A very interesting experience, it was a really ‘Roman’ styled Illy, it was very rich, decent in my book, and an upper end experience of Illy, à la ‘mode’ let us say.

The setup: As you know, it was Illy coffee all the way at this place. The standard duo when this is served, and the deal the cafe owner gets is a La Cimbali machine and grinder.​


Spartaco Bar Caffè

Bar Gastronomia Gelateria Mascherucci

Di Daniela di Virgilio SAS

Via Luigi Arati, 45

00151 Roma


bottom of page