top of page
Roasters In Rome
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Lastest Posts

KILOMETROZERO CAFFÈ, PIAZZA OTTAVILLA 4, 00152 ROMA

Rating: Standard, traditional Roman coffee served


The Bar and Cafe Kilometrozero on the Piazza Ottavilla is an interesting phenomenon. It’s competing against four other bars, almost directly on that same parking-lot plaza (yes.. it’s a non-existent plaza, that’s in reality a parking lot). It looks almost brand new, besides the Dolce Kosher Caffe, this place has the nicest interior of them all. The most pleasant let’s say: so let’s see what they offer.


The staff is friendly, run by a young couple. Asking for a coffee gets you the following:​

​Presentation: We’re off to a great start. A glass of water was offered immediately without having to ask. The cup was clean all in order.


Temperature of Cup: Good warm temperature, not too hot. Just right.


Quantity: A short shot, good. The cup is on the large size, so the barista kept it quite short. I’m glad she did.


Temperature: Could drink it without hesitation. We’re doing great so far.


Volume/Consistency: Hmm… not sirupy, not silky, watery. There’s something not quite-spot on here.


Crema: It was on the dark-side. Which is good, and reflects the fact that the barista didn’t stretch the shot too much. It was thin however, reflecting old beans being roasted.​

Odor: Not much of an odor if I might say. Left me thinking, if any coffee here in Rome is aromatic or not.


Taste: I realized that I forgot to take a shot of the empty cup!! I guess I was preoccupied with understanding what the hell I was tasting. It was Ok. It was bitter, not rancid, but there was something not right about it. After walking away from the bar, I realized that the taste I was noticing might be similar to a metallic taste I’ve felt at other places. Its related usually to the water, or to a dirty boiler. But I’m not sure.​

​Overall: So, besides this, I think it was an OK espresso. I might describe the taste as ‘smokey’ instead of metallic, I don’t know. I’ll have to stop by again to see if I can distinguish the taste. But given the nice surroundings, nice barista, I’d go back to this place.


The setup: they had a La Cimbali machine and grinder, all decent. The La Cimbali didn’t look like the latest model, so the metallic taste might indeed be from the boiler if it’s a rented machine. But is this me just being picky?​

The coffee they were serving is called Caffè Vicerè this is a traditional Roman roaster, still roasting out of Rome. So this is ‘authentic’ local coffee. I reminded me of another roaster, the Torrefazione Adriatica, who’s coffee had a burnt, woody feel to it, and where the crema was a grey-ish brown color. Maybe that’s the end-taste I’m sensing?​

In any case, the place is nice. Comfortable, and they tend to show sports games in the afternoons.​

Kilometrozero Caffè, G&D S.R.L.S.

Piazza Ottavilla, 4

00152 Roma

bottom of page